Dr. Elena Gatti


Company:ECKART Italia Srl                                  
Role:Head of General Administration
Location:Rivanazzano (PV)
Has been with the company since:11/2003

What have you done before you joined ECKART?

I first graduated in economics in 2000 (University of Pavia). The year following, I acquired my Master’s in HR and Organization (ISTUD).

From April 2001 until October 2003, I was with KPMG Italy, working as a SAP consultant for HR modules.

In which personnel development programs of the ALTANA Group have you already participated?

I took part in the DP Italy program from April 2007 until May 2008, which involved more or less 7 weeks of training in different Italian locations. This exciting experience gave me the opportunity to meet my other Italian “colleagues” and to visit the other Italian ALTANA plants. From a working point of view, the DP provided me with a lot of tools for use in my daily working life.

Please describe us one typical working day

As we have a small organization in Italy, and only two members of staff in the Finance Dept., I usually attend to a variety of tasks (coordination tasks and more operative tasks).

During the monthly closing and quarterly closing, I mainly see to the preparation of the IDL cockpit and IDL quarterly packages.

Additionally, my daily work involves either overseeing or assisting with:

  • accounts payable, third parties: from booking until final payment of the invoice (also in SAP)
  • professionals with withholding tax (as above)
  • time management: local software for the booking of time data, holidays, overtime, business trips, etc. (+ contacts with the external payroll consultant, who makes the monthly calculation of salaries and all the related items)
  • IFRS bookings (also in SAP)
  • general ledger as regards payroll, tax, insurance (also in SAP)
    IT internal reference (for complex topics, we refer to an external consultant)
  • reporting for ALTANA and for ECKART GmbH
  • forecast and long-range planning

I am also responsible for the Shipping Department (although I do have three colleagues helping me in the warehouse, one for the office work and two in the warehouse directly).

I am lucky because I live near the plant. I need 15 minutes to reach the office. I usually arrive in the office at 8.15 a.m. and leave between 6.30 p.m. and 7.30 p.m. depending on the current workload. I have one hour for lunch.

What are your personnel goals for the future?

As I have only been in the position of Head of Finance since January 1, 2010, I am currently gaining a lot of experience and am still “on a learning curve” from my point of view. My goals at the moment are to improve certain financials areas such as taxes and payroll because, in the past, I never had the opportunity to affect them in any significant way.

What are your preferred leisure activities?

Usually I spend my free time with my family. I’m married, and I have a baby who is 3½ years old. I enjoy swimming and skiing. I like books even if I don’t often have so much time to read. I live in the countryside and so, if the weather is good, I like to stay outdoors, taking trips and walking in nature.