Nicola Cuminetti

Company:ELANTAS Italia S.r.l.
Role:R&D Manager Secondary Insulation
Location:Collecchio and Quattordio
Has been with the company since:2000

What have you done before you joined ELANTAS?
Studied Industrial Chemistry at Università degli Studi di Parma.

Please describe us your typical working day
I manage a team of 7 researchers in two different production sites and the QC laboratory with 4 people of the production site of Quattordio. My work is split between different ‘internal customers’ which go through the full organization of the company: sales and marketing, production, purchasing, H&SE.

What were the career stations you have gone through within the ALTANA Group and how did the company support you? 
I started as R&D project leader for the business line EEM in the sector of composites and adhesives. Then I moved for one year to ELANTAS PDG in USA, trained and working on specific projects of mutual interest between the two production sites in Italy and USA. When I moved back to Italy, I started to work as project leader to transfer production and know-how from Sterling/Epoxylite to the site of Collecchio (PR).

I moved then to Hamburg for a period of 4 months to learn R&D and application of the line of products for conformal coating; this was to move back to ELANTAS PDG for a period of 18 months as assistant to the Business Development Manager for NAFTA for the EEM business line. During this period of time I helped the team of ELANTAS PDG to rationalize their product portfolio in the EEM BL and to train and provide technical background in the specific BL. During this period of time I was also supporting ELANTAS PDG for the acquisition and transferring of production and know-how of the business of Quadrant Chemical Co which was strictly related to the BL of EEM.

When I moved back to Italy in 2010 I was in charge of another acquisition: we had to move know-how and production of ABB Micafil. This project lasted a couple of years. In 2012 I started as R&D manager of the BL SI for ELANTAS Italia and I am in charge of the laboratory of Quattordio.

What do you do in your leisure time?
I love travelling; I have been travelling all over the world by myself, but as well as tour leader for an Italian travel agent named Avventure nel Mondo.
I love sports in general: I play basketball since when I was a kid, but I also love hiking, skying, mountain biking, etc.

In which cultural experiences are you interested?
As a traveller (and in business) I am always interested in knowing and understanding different cultures, from their history to their daily habits.